Musings♥

My Simple and Inexpensive Grocery List

Over the past year, most of us have been pushed to cook more than ever. I know I have. Also, I've noticed that the cost of food is rising, and unfortunately many people have to do without.

So I'm sharing my grocery list because it's simple and the ingredients are easily accessible. I hope it helps those who are facing larger grocery bills to wade into using veggies and fruits more effectively. Meals where meat is the main item are expensive (ribs, roasts, drumsticks, 9 piece meals, BBQ, burger patties). Meals where meat is simply another ingredient, like in soups, pastas, salads, or rice bowls, are less expensive.

Having been on food stamps in the past myself, I hope this could also help others use their EBT funds more effectively. I really wish I had this list years ago. Way healthier and cost effective than buying a bunch of frozen pizzas.

With my current lifestyle, I think that if I didn't have this list, having food delivered to my home would not be financially plausible. This list has kept me out the grocery stores and in my house (or car when getting curbside)during this pandemic.

This list is not absolute. I also like to add a couple of seasonal food items to switch things up. Feel free to add anything that makes it more you. Plus this list can easily be adjusted to fit vegan, vegetarian, dairy free, and gluten free diets. At the end of this list are some notes and tips for making fast meals with the following ingredients.

Animal protein: Chicken, fish, eggs, beef

Dairy: Butter, ghee, goat cheese with herbs, yogurt

Other extras: Wraps, nuts, seeds, dried fruit, bread loaf, jelly, berries, olives, ketchup, cookies, juice, coffee, tea, frozen fruit

Extra-Extras: Furikake Rice Seasoning, Hojicha green tea, Seaweed (Nori), Dashi Power

Notes:

Inspirations: Hundred Rabbits (Rekka & Devine), Jack Monroe, Pantry cookbooks

#eating #lifestyle